Now we’re cooking with… metho!

You’ll recall that I put a great deal of thought, research and diligence into researching a tent to take on our cycle touring expeditions.  I’m not ashamed to say that I didn’t put anywhere near the same amount of effort into buying a camp stove.  Why’s that?  Well, simple really.  Every time I searched for a camp stove that was simple, reliable, easy to use and, well, just works.. one stove kept coming up over and over again.  That stove is the Trangia.  Also, mum was adamant that she didn’t want a gas stove.  That meant the decision-making was limited purely to capacity (how many people we want to cook for) and accessories.  Much simpler.

I wanted to get a Trangia 27-3 or 27-5.  This is because they come with non-stick pan and/or non-stick bowls.  The Trangia 27-1, 27-3 and 27-5 are also able to take the optional gas burner.  So if we ever decide that we don’t want to cook with Methylated Spirits (or perhaps we go someplace where it’s not readily available), we’ll be able to use gas instead.  In the end, I got a 27-1, because it was all Anaconda had on the shelves in the 27 series (unless I wanted to go the 27-6 or 27-8, for another $100 or $140 respectively.. no thanks).  It wasn’t my first choice, but I’m not unhappy.  If we decide we really do want non-stick pan/pots, they’re readily available as individual parts.

I haven’t used the stove yet, so until I do, here are some photos:

Trangia 27-1 in its box

Trangia 27-1 box, reverse side

The reverse of the box shows all the possible model options.  It also shows what your particular cookset is made from (ultralight aluminium – I’m so glad they didn’t spell it “aluminum”), and its weight.  For the weight weenies out there, the whole thing, packed with all its wrappers, packaging, instruction manual etc, weighed in at 800 grams.  Removed from the box, minus the instructions, but with all the plastic wrapping etc, it weighed 700g.  So it’s actually a touch lighter than the stated weight.  But if you’re the sort of person to whom 20g makes a difference, this is probably not the stove for you anyway.

The unveiling

The contents

A pan...

Ooooo.. what's this yellow bag?

It's a burner!

And a pot holder too!

Everything that came in the box

OK, so to take a quick breather from all the pictures, here’s what came in the box (back row, from left to right): pan (sitting on top of the box), wind shield (inverted), top of stove, bowl; and front row, left to right:  burner, pot holder and another bowl.  The long belt-like thing hanging off the bottom of the wind shield is a strap that holds it all together when packed.

Graduations marked on the side of one of the bowls. That's 300mL and 500mL.

These markings are visible from inside the bowl too.  The other bowl doesn’t have any markings on it.  The bowls fit together only one way (ie one is a touch narrower than the other).  This is by design.  Apparently you can stack the pots on top of each other to cook things in some sort of double-decker arrangement.  I’m not convinced that this would be effective, practical or safe.  But I haven’t tried it, so until I have, I will stay open-minded.

Trangia stove set up with a pot inside

Pot supports

When flipped downards, these doodads support a pot within the stove.  When flipped upwards, they support the pan on top of the stove.  Note that the burner is installed with the simmer ring fully closed.

The burner

The burner itself consists of three parts.  The bottom part (left) acts as a vessel for the fuel.  Above that in the photo is the screw-on cap.  This cap is not used when actually cooking.  It is used to seal the burner whilst packed.  The O-ring seal means you can leave fuel in the burner rather than have to dispose of surplus fuel.  To the right is the simmer ring, in the closed position.

Warning! Don't be stupid! A Darwin Award could be in your future!

The burner installed in the stove, with simmer ring open

The instructions

I should probably read these.  Relying on knowledge gained from YouTube, I was able to assemble the stove without the instructions.  However, I will have a read of it before putting myself anywhere near a flame or combustible liquid.  It’s probably best I don’t do a Niki Lauda.  😆

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 04/12/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Max, My tip is to work the simmer ring until it moves freely, as it’s sometimes necessary to adjust the opening while the stove is burning (with the end of a utensil of course), and it’s much easier to do if the flap is not stiff.

    I noticed you have a link to my Tassie journal on your blog. You will need to update the link, as I have relocated it to http://cycleintas.blogspot.com/, and you can also find a link to it on my blog. I’m working on putting up the NZ journal at the moment.

    Cheers,

    Ron.

  2. That’s a good tip, thanks, Ron!

    I’ve updated the link to your Tassie trip. I look forward to seeing the NZ journal too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

