The Exped Venus III – some photos

Mum and I decided to set the tent up in my back yard yesterday.  We need to learn the process of setup and teardown long before ever using the tent in anger.  I secretly wanted to test Exped’s claim that it could be set up by one person and that it could be done in under five minutes.  Their YouTube videos show one of their guys setting it up super-quickly, so surely it must be super-quick for camping n00bs like us, right?

I have quite a bit to say about our experience, but I have to go get ready for work.  For now, here are some pictures to keep you interested.  Mum has very graciously modelled in these photos.

Doesn't look like much.. this should be easy to set up, right?

Look! Multi-coloured tent pegs! Pretty!

Sardines! Yum!

I'm trying to come up with something witty to say about this, but I've got nothing.

Just what is inside this bag of sardines?

We pegged it down by improvising. Yes, those are dog toys.

The tent, fly-side up

First pole in. Mum is delighted at this accomplishment.

It's up... kind of. Please ignore the misaligned footprint.

Must... align... tent..

Mat inflation or CPR practice? You decide.

Maybe if I put my hands over the picture of the hands..

ZZZZZzzzzzzzZZZzzzzZzzzzzzZZZzzzzz

She claims she was just holding it down, but I think the thought of trying to fit it back into its bag was just too much, and she collapsed under the weight of her own expectations

It has been defeated!!!!! YAAARRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!

It is done!

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 21/11/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

