The Exped Venus III tent has arrived!

I’ve just received a nice big parcel from Amazon, containing an Exped Venus III tent, a footprint for same, two Exped DownMat 7s and two Lonely Planet cycling guides (Australia and NZ).  $900AUD shipped (it arrived in four days!). As much as I wanted to support local businesses, I just couldn’t justify the extra $300-$500 (depending on where you shop) to do it. Despite Exped’s proclamation that their overseas resellers will not ship to a country that has a local distributor, Amazon didn’t have a problem with it.

I considered a number of tents. In the end, I decided on the Venus III because it’s free-standing, has plenty of room for me and my mum and our stuff, and it’s four-season. It’s a touch heavy by touring standards (4Kg), but I’m OK with that. Mum and I can divide the load of the tent and other stuff so neither of us is too burdened. If I ever decide I want to go solo touring, I’ll either suffer the weight or get myself a smaller, lighter tent. For now, this suits our needs.

Image

I’ll be setting it up in the back yard this weekend. Pictures will be taken and posted here for your viewing pleasure :)

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 18/11/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

