And so I’ve come full circle

I met Ron Kinang yesterday.  Ron’s been helping me plan the Tassie tour, giving me bits of information here and there (not least of which, a link to his own account of riding in Tasmania).  Ron’s been putting together a custom touring bike (details here).  I was very excited to see the new bike and also to talk to Ron about his experiences touring.  We chatted for 2.5 hours about various bike-touring topics.  It was very informative.  Thanks, Ron!

And then, he showed me the bike.

A thing of beauty

Ron’s bike is beautiful, no doubt. And from my perspective, it is pretty much an ideal configuration (though I would’ve gone disc brakes, but that’s neither here nor there, what’s important is that Ron’s happy). I’ve been thinking about a custom build, based around an LHT frame with a Rohloff hub and all the various bits and pieces. Ron and I spoke about the Vivente Randonneur, a bike that ticks most of the boxes off the shelf.  Now that I’ve seen Ron’s beautiful bike – and I know this will sound odd – I’ve pretty much changed my mind and decided I might go with a Randonneur after all.

What’s that, you say, I saw a beautiful bike and decided I didn’t want one just like it? Yes. I know. I didn’t expect that either. But hear me out. I’m just getting into this touring thing. So new to it that I haven’t even toured. Not even an overnighter. It’s all just a concept right now, one that I’m learning lots about. I have grand plans, sure, but I don’t know how it will pan out. I might do it and hate it. And then I’ll have a beautiful custom bike that cost a fortune sitting around doing nothing. No. That’s not cool. So I think I’ll do some smaller tours (1-3 nights, or a week here and there if I can get leave) on my commuter (road bike with rack and panniers) and see how it goes. If I enjoy it, I’ll get the Randonneur for Tasmania. Once I’ve done Tassie, I’ll know if I want to keep doing it seriously, and I’ll also know if the Randonneur meets my needs or if I really do need something nicer/swankier/better/whatever.

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 13/11/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

