Giro Tasmania routes

Day 1:  Hobart to Richmond

Day 2:  Richmond to Triabunna

Day 3:  Triabunna to Swansea

Day 4:  Swansea to Bicheno

Day 5:  Bicheno to St Helens

 

I’ll put some more maps together when I have time.

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 25/10/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Max – looking at the maps you have posted. The route out of Hobart is via the Inter-City Bikeway (Hobart-Claremont) which follows the rail line which you can see if you change from terrain to map. Do leave the bikeway at Elwick Road.

    Also, do not travel up the east coast without visiting Coles Bay and the Freycinet Peninsula. It is the prime east coast attraction.

    Cheers,

    RonK

    • Thanks for the feedback, Ron! I put these maps together on BikeMaps using the Giro web site and a road map as references. It’s good to get insider knowledge! I’ll modify the map when I get a chance.

      Thanks for the tip about Coles Bay and the peninsula. They’re going on the list 😀

  2. Max – you work in IT in Brisbane? I’ve been working in IT in Brisbane for 20 years. Do I know you?

    • Hi Ron, yes I’m in IT. About 16 years in the game. Your name’s not familiar to me, but that’s not to say we haven’t met. It’s scary how small the IT world can be! Where do you work?

  3. Max, I just left IBM in June after 12 years – now I’m working for Revolution IT, and I’m currently assigned to a project for APLNG at Origin Energy in Milton. The team I’m working with have many connections to people I also know or have worked with, so yes, the Brisbane IT scene is indeed small and almost incestuous.

    I noticed you are looking at the Vivente World Randoneur. I think it’s a good choice, and have been advising my brother in Melbourne, who took delivery of his VWR only a few weeks ago. I have an important tip to pass on with regard to your Tassie tour.

    Tasmania does have some steep hills, but they will not be overly difficult if your bike is geared correctly. I found the gearing on the bike I used too high, and now use lower gears.

    Vivente does not currently have any stock of 2011 VWR (Epic had a small one left when I was there a few weeks ago). I have not seen the 2012 specification sheet, so I don’t know if there have been any changes. For the 2011 models, the drop-bar version uses road bike gearing which is definitely too high for Tasmania. The trekking bar model uses mountain bike gearing, and although it is not as quite low as what I’m using, it’s definitely the way to go.

    If you would like to catch up for a coffee and chat sometime, drop me a line.

    • I work for BlueScope Steel. I’ve somehow managed to survive the big downsizing effort and am now working as a Server Engineer. The new job is actually much more interesting than my old role (all-round IT, quasi project management). I hate SQL server, but as the team’s newest member, I’m catching all the SQL shitwork.. and I’m not hating it as much as I thought I would. Still, SQL/DBA stuff is a speciality in itself, and I don’t see myself going down that road.

      The Randonneur is a very attractive bike. I regard it as a value-for-money all-rounder. My mum took Epic’s small bike for a test ride last Sunday. Despite the fact that she’s quite small, she said it was too small for her. Epic claim they’ll be getting a shipment before christmas, so with any luck a medium will fit her.

      I agree RE the gearing options for the Randonneur. Assuming we leave the configuration stock, the MTB gearing really is the way to go, as far as I’m concerned. I don’t understand why Vivente bothered with a road groupset; perhaps it was to entice reluctant roadies into the fold?

      For my bike, I am leaning towards either – retrofitting a Rohloff to the Randonneur (probably better bang for buck), or building something from scratch (lots of $$$ but maybe more than I would like to spend).

      The 2011 touring bar model has 48x36x26 at the front and 11-32 at the back, giving a range of approx 537%, which is a touch wider than the Rohloff Speedhub’s 526%, however (assuming a 42×16 on the Rohloff), it favours the upper/faster end of the scale. From my perspective, there’s no need for super-fast gears (really, am I ever going to push 42/11 on a touring bike? I can barely push that hard a gear on my roadie!). So assuming stock gearing, the Rohloff is more appropriate for touring. And that’s not even considering its other advantages.

      What gearing are you running on your tourer now? I know you’ve gone through a couple touring bikes, including a Surly. Have you finished your custom build yet?

      Thanks for the offer of a catchup. I will definitely pick your brains sometime over a coffee 🙂

      Max

  4. Max, you are spot on with your thoughts about gearing. On my Tassie tour I had a low of 26×34 on the Surly and it wasn’t low enough. I found some of the climbs a real struggle. On the other hand, I shifted onto the big chainring only once or twice – I think there is a comment celebrating that in my journal.

    Now I’m using 22×32, (44-32-22) which let me climb comfortably in New Zealand with a gear to spare on all but the steepest hills. I could still go even lower, but the 11-32 cassette is more evenly spaced between the gears and is more pleasant to ride.

    My custom build is progressing as you’ll see on my Van Nicholas thread. I’m using a 39t chainring (because I couldn’t find a 38) with the 16t sprocket, which should yield similar gearing to my current setup. I’m hoping to get it finished next weekend so I can show it off. 🙂

    I’ve suggested to my brother that he should replace the 26t chainring on his VWR with a 24t to get a better low gear.

    Sounds like you been lucky to survive the changes at BlueScope, but sometimes you wonder if a redundancy would be a blessing. With your years service you would expected a decent payout. I hung in at IBM for quite while hoping to get a payout, but finally in June I couldn’t stand it any more and quit for an instant 20k pay rise.

    I’ve also spent quite a bit of time on data maintenance – writing SQL to trawl a database for corruptions, then writing SQL to generate more SQL to fix them. It was fun once I came to understand the data model and got used to using multiple table joins. A basic SQL book is a great help.

    Cheers,

    RonK

Leave a Reply

