The cheek of it!

I’m doing a little research on the Randonneur, and decided to send an enquiry to Cheeky Transport (in Sydney).  Cheeky have a great reputation for commuting and touring, so I figured they’d be open to answering some questions.  They got back to me within 24 hours, and here is a cut-n-paste of the email (my questions in bold, and their answers immediately below)

I notice in the photo on your site that there is a disc brake at the front, but a regular V brake at the back.  Can you tell me why it’s not one or the other for both wheels?
It was the choice of the bikes designer. We generally remove that disc brake and install a matching LX front V-brake for no additional charge.

What’s your view on the widely-held perception that disc brakes are not a good idea for touring because they’re finicky to adjust or difficult to repair?
We concur, and like to reccomend V-brakes.

All three models appear to use derailleurs.  I’ve read a lot about the Rohloff Speedhub and I’m sold on the idea.  Is it possible to fit a Rohloff Speedhub in place of the derailleur, and if so, what sort of extra cost would be involved (ballpark – don’t forget, this trip is a while away yet!)
Around $2000 is ballpark for a Rohloff retrofit.

Will the trekking/butterfly bar model take a front rack?  If so, which rack would you recommend?
The Tubus Duo Lowrider and an Ortlieb handlebar bag would be our suggestion.

I met a fellow on the Brisbane-Gold Coast 100 ride last weekend, who was riding a fully loaded Randonneur.  He told me he’d had all sorts of problems with spoke breakage.  His bike is two years old.  Are you aware of any issues RE spoke strength in the current models?
The spokes are DT Swiss Alpine 3’s – a very strong reinforced touring spoke. We haven’t seen any issues with the current black version of the bike.

How would you rate the dynamo light versus Ayup medium/intermediate lights?
We strongly reccomend dynamo lights for touring bikes. There are brighter battery lights if that’s your key metric, but modern LED dynamo lights are more than bright enough for on-road riding, and the convenience of not requiring battery chargers makes them much better for this sort of riding/bike.

My mum particularly wants a bike with 700c tyres.  Yet, lots of people on cycling websites recommend 28” tyres.  Can you tell me what the advantages or disadvantages are of each?
28″ and 700c are simply different ways of describing the same wheel size – modern road, touring, hybrid etc are all 28″/700c/622 ERD.

 

D’OH!  I meant to ask about 26″ wheels, not 28″!  My stupid fat fingers!  I’ve sent them a reply asking about 26″.  Hopefully they’ll get back to me soon.

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 13/10/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

