Alternative Rohloff shifters

Rohloff make a great IGH, no doubt.  But the shifter that comes with it isn’t for everyone.  It’s a twist shifter, which is fine on a flatbar bike, but another story if using a bike with drops.  With thanks to Rifraf from the ACF, it seems that there is finally an alternative for dropbar riders!

Now this looks very much like the STI-style shifters we’re used to seeing from Shimano, SRAM and others.  But it’s designed for the Rohloff IGH.  Now, don’t ask me how it works, the short answer is I have no clue.  I don’t know how well it works, how much it costs, how easy it is to operate etc etc… all I know is that it exists.

And just in case you’re a flatbar rider who doesn’t like the twist shifter, there’s something for you too.

A thumb shifter.  Nice.

But here’s the thing.  One of the beauties of a twist shifter like the one that comes with the Rohloff is that you can quickly change from a very high gear to a very low gear in one action (maybe two).  The shifters above look like they’re somehow indexed (which, as I understand it, the Rohloff does internally anyway) – but what I really mean is that to change down three gears, you’d use the lever three times.  It kind of defeats one of the Rohloff’s big selling points.  That said, the dropbar shifter addresses a need in the market today.  I hope I’ll find reviews online soon.

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 05/10/2011, in Rohloff. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just found a site called Dutch Bike BIts http://www.dutchbikebits.com/index.php?route=common/home which has a lot of interesting bits including the coveted wheel lock and a handlebar grip bell.

Leave a Reply

