Flights to France

OMFG flights to France are expensive.  I just had a quick look at webjet.com.au and the cheapest return flight to Paris (admittedly using dummy dates) was a touch over $2000 per person, in Cattle Class.  With a 20Kg luggage limit.  I checked another site, JetAbroad, and it’s not much better there.  Maybe Tasmania is a better option after all.  :(

About Max

I'm an IT nerd who spends much less time on my bike than I'd like. I'm planning a big cycle tour for when I get long service leave (2013). Until then, I keep plodding along at my job and get on my bike when I can. Did I mention I love riding my bike?

Posted on 17/09/2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t know if you are interested in Asia, but I talked to a woman on CQ12 who was wearing a Spice Tours shirt & she has done several with them & been impressed. I haven’t checked out their prices yet http://www.spiceroads.com/
    It might be cheaper to fly to London & then a cheap airline to Europe. Emirates is cheapest at moment. Portugal has some good cycle tours & is relatively cheap for Europe.

    • Thanks for the heads-up, Carolyn! I’ll be honest; Asia really isn’t of interest to me. I don’t know why, because when I watch travel shows and documentaries and so forth, it looks like a really interesting place. But I just don’t see myself visiting. I will put the link up in the “Tour routes/detinations” list.

      You mentioned CQ 2012. How did you like it? Was this your first CQ?

      Out of interest, how did you stumble upon this blog? I’m always curious to know how people find me :)

  2. Yes, my first CQ, I am still a bit tired. I think the camping got to me more than the cycling. I managed the cycling better than I expected, but I think I would feel better now if I’d got better quality sleep.
    Found your blog searching for “cycle qld”. I am interested to see how people fared & to see some photos from the event. It is really interesting to see what other people have to say about the trip & what they got out of it.
    Good luck with touring :-)

    • This was my 4th CQ. Actually, I found the riding on this CQ a little tougher than previous CQs. I think day 1 was a shocker. Day 1 is usually quite short and flat, just to get the legs turning. But this time there was a lot of climbing, including a couple pretty steep pinches. I have to say I was caught out by surprise!

      I understand what you mean about the camping. We’ve gone the Easy Campeasy route every time. I don’t know that I could face putting a tent up after a long, tough ride.

      With respect to sleep, I did a couple things differently this year:
      1. Used an inflatable sleeping mat (Exped Downmat 7). It’s filled with down (for warmth) and doesn’t weigh a ton. This meant I was able to stay warm, but more importantly, I could sleep on my side without my hip bones digging into the ground.

      2. Earplugs. In the past, I’d go to sleep and, if woken by noise (snoring), put them in. This time, I put them in before going to sleep – meaning I didn’t get woken up by noises in the first place.

      3. Nurofen. I didn’t prepare as well for this CQ as I have in the past, so I was feeling a touch sore. Every night, I took a couple Nurofen before going to bed. I don’t think it knocked me out, but it sure made sleeping that much easier.

      I slept through all but two nights. This is compared to waking up every hour or so on past CQs. So one or all of these three things made a huge difference to my sleep quality.

      I’ll put up some CQ photos for you shortly :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

